A/C brand opinions needed, please.

RugerFanRugerFan Senior MemberPosts: 1,415 Senior Member
As I have posted elsewhere, I need a new home hvac.  It's NG heat. My a/c guy has recommended a Goodman brand 5 ton unit. He says that' what he would install in his house. Says parts.are quick and easy to get. 

I know a couple of you are in the business, so I would really like to bear your opinions. 

Replies

• centermass556centermass556 Senior Member Posts: 3,429 Senior Member

I have a Carrier unit at the house. It does fine in the GA heat and is energy efficient.

"To have really lived, you must have almost died. To those who have fought for it, freedom has a flavor the protected will never know."
  • Big ChiefBig Chief Senior Member Posts: 30,712 Senior Member
    I have heard they work, but not the best brand by far. AC guys told me yes they don't have proprietary parts and are available everywhere, but they would use another brand.

I'm no expert, but IMHO I'd pick another brand. 
    It's only true if it's on this forum where opinions are facts and facts are opinions
    Words of wisdom from Big Chief: Flush twice, it's a long way to the Mess Hall
    I'd rather have my sister work in a whorehouse than own another Taurus!
    You are making a big investment, spend a bit more if you can and get something a couple notches up.
    It's only true if it's on this forum where opinions are facts and facts are opinions
    edited May 2 #5
    https://www.furnacecompare.com/air-conditioners/goodman/reviews/

Of course other places recommend them as affordable easy to repair units, depends on where you look.
  • Wambli SkaWambli Ska Moderator Posts: 25,424 Senior Member
    I’m NOT an a/c expert.  My in-laws Trane unit has been running trouble free for 18 years.  They have a great reputation here in my development to the point real estate folks point them out as a feature when you shop for homes and coastal NC is TOUGH on units.