Hurricane Irma gun+ confiscation, US Virgin Islands

CaliFFLCaliFFL Senior MemberPosts: 4,092 Senior Member
Not only guns. Allows them to seize private property they believe necessary to protect the islands.

I have no knowledge of USVI law, but I assume there is gun registration.

U.S. Virgin Islands Gov. Kenneth Mapp signed an emergency order allowing the seizure of private guns, ammunition, explosives and property the National Guard may need to respond to Hurricane Irma.

Mapp signed the order Monday in preparation for Hurricane Irma. The order allows the Adjutant General of the Virgin Islands to seize private property they believe necessary to protect the islands, subject to approval by the territory’s Justice Department.

http://dailycaller.com/2017/09/05/virgin-islands-allows-national-guard-to-seize-guns-ammo-ahead-of-hurricane-irma/
The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me.

Ayn Rand

Replies

• NCFUBARNCFUBAR Senior Member Posts: 4,232 Senior Member
    The USVI has strict gun laws. There you must have a license (and there are a few different types) which is not a Shall Issue thing either to own and buy firearms. They also have to register said firearms with police. The USVI has about 100,000 citizens so how many actually own firearms (legally)? Now however with Irma and her 180mph peak winds knocking on their door how many police would actually waste time going after registered firearms versus lashing down everything and preparing for Irma? Yeah, I remember what they pulled in NOLA but I'm guessing manpower in the USVI is stretched and the "allowing seizure" thing is not right but if someone there has a firearm just keep it out of sight of police and NG and don't act stupid.
    “The further a society drifts from truth ... the more it will hate those who speak it."
    - George Orwell
  • CHIRO1989CHIRO1989 Senior Member Posts: 9,486 Senior Member
    " I lost all my gus's in the last hurricane"