Believe it or not.

earlyagainearlyagain Posts: 117 Member

I've been hunting the same area for 22 years. Never kept a log. Hard to really be certain how many years ago stuff happened. That in mind, some years ago well packing out a cow elk I was lucky enough to down, a game warden stopped to check me out. When he saw the S&W 44 on my hip he show'd obvious anxiety. I immediately produced ID, tags, etc., and began friendly conversation so as to hopefully ease any possible tention with an armed LEO. It had the desired effect. It happened that that year I had arrived at camp a week early and had been some 10 or 12 days without talking to anyone. I was anxious to relay the details of my success with someone, and kept him engaged much longer than had time for. He was very patient about it and it struck me that he was a very nice guy and I remembered him. Fast forward several years later, like maybe 10 or so I think, to two seasons ago. Two hunters, a man and his wife camped near me. After they were done setting up I payed a friendly call. We talked a bit and the man informed me that the road we were using was closed to motor bikes and atv's by the Forest Service and was posted as such at the entrance. I'm not a user of those vehicles and had never checked that posting. He also said he was in the habbit of confronting violators of that posting. I wished them luck and went back to my camp. Awhile later someone came down the road on an atv. The guy I'd talked to came running from his camp to confront the atv rider. I watched thinking he was being foolish. Fast forward again a day or two. I had a successful hunt and healed up from carcass extraction enough to spend some more time in the woods well waiting for the butcher down in town to wrap and freeze my meat. Well crossing the road the same atv rider pulls up dismounts and approaches me on foot. The wind catches his coat flap exposing a hidden badge beneath. We exchanged pleasantries and I recodnized him as the patient nic