Slide Mounted Miniature Red Dots for an EDC gun?

shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior MemberPosts: 5,271 Senior Member
The title says it all, what is everybody's thoughts on slide mounted miniature red dot sights for an EDC? More and more shooters that I know personally and who's opinions I respect are switching to RMRs for EDC, backed up by suppressor height sights. I've shot a few and really enjoy them, and see some serious merits. 

How serious? I'm considering having my G19 milled for an RMR. I'm no pro, but the advantage of being able to always focus on the target is blatant. 

We have had red dot sights on battle rifles for well over a decade, IMO the technology is here to stay. 

So, has anybody here considered adding this to their "toolkit?"
- I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
"It's far easier to start out learning to be precise and then speeding up, than it is having never "mastered" the weapon, and trying to be precise." - Dan C

Replies

• CHIRO1989CHIRO1989 Senior Member Posts: 9,566 Senior Member
    I am getting there, to the extent that I have looked for mounts that can replace existing rear sights, at the time this was not a good option. How much to modify the Glock?
    I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn away from their ways and live. Eze 33:11
  • bisleybisley Senior Member Posts: 9,901 Senior Member
    A CT laser would be a lot cheaper, if you are willing to go battery power for your self defense gun.
  • BAMAAKBAMAAK Senior Member Posts: 4,070 Senior Member
    When my red dot failed in the middle of a match, I found it very difficult to use the suppressor size iron sites.  Probably just me.
    "He only earns his freedom and his life Who takes them every day by storm."

-- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, German writer and politician
  • BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 6,636 Senior Member