Thread: H&R .357 magnum rifle

H&R .357 magnum rifle

Anybody have an H&R Handi Rifle in .357 magnum. I found one at the LGS for $219 and passed on it but I am thinking I should go back and buy it. It had iron sights and scope mounts. What do the experts say??

Re: H&R .357 magnum rifle

I'm not an expert, but I do own one in .25-06. I have only one complaint, but it's kind of a biggie. The trigger sucks bad enough to affect hunting accuracy at longer ranges (which is the reason for having a .25-06 in the first place), and fixing it is tricky enough that a gunsmith probably needs to do it.

A .357 is probably going to be a 100 yard rifle, though, so this might not be so much of a factor.

I have multiple NEF/ H&R rifles, and they are solid guns. At that price- BUY it!

I have a .44mag, a .45Colt, and a .308. The .308 has my longest kill on game- about 210 yards. The trigger can be heavy, but that can be fixed.
    To make something simple is a thousand times more difficult than to make something complex.
    -Mikhail Kalashnikov

I had a heavy barrel in .223 that I used as a woodchuck rig for quite some time..
    Never laugh at your wife's choices.
    You are one of them.

Run don't walk, go get it.
    That don't confront me, as long as I get my money by next Friday.

Tennmike has some sort of single shot .357 I played with at the SE shoot a couple years ago. Was a lot of fun as a plinker.
    "Finding out that you have run out of toilet paper is a good example of lack of preparation, buying 10 years worth is silly"
    -DoctorWho

My nef 357 handi ........ has had the barrel cut to 16.5 inches by wilson combat ....... who done most excellent work .......... peep sight installed and a taller 30-30 front sight installed ..................... cast bullets clover at 50yds ....... nice gun .... id buy one for that price