Thread: Just screwed my cousin..................

Just screwed my cousin..................

.....out of almost $7000 per year.

I have been battling with my Dad for the last 10 years about him employing my cousins as Lawyers and Accountants. These 2 guys (and their respective practices) make normal lawyers/accountants look like Angels. Talk about avaricious and greedy.

Anyhow, my dad, being 89 yrs old always insisted on doing the payroll tax/IRD returns himself. He has been reluctant to hand anything over to me as the 'Lebanese' way is to retain control as much as possible when you are the 'Patriarch' of the family. (Dads father was exactly the same to him, as was his father so I can understand it to some extent)......and it drives me nuts!!!!!!!

With all the modern tax processes, Dad got to the point where he simply threw his hands up in the air and, (unbeknownst to me) handed the PAYE, Payroll, etc over to my cousin ( the accountant) who prepared the end of month reports etc .

Before I headed over to the SE, I told my father that if things didn't change when I came back, I would tell him where to put the Orchid side of the business and go seek alternative employment.

I get home and after a heated discussion finally got Dad to agree to let me handle the whole payroll from start to finish.

I purchased a Govt sanctioned computer program, loaded it into my laptop and spent the last 3 days setting it up and learning how to operate it. It took me most of the 3 days to back enter the control data, but yesterday, I completed the task and filed the end of May returns. ( A one off cost of $375 for the program and a yearly support package incl updates of $350 per annum)

When I showed dad the results and paper trail he was impressed to say the least and so I asked him how much my cousin was charging a month to do the same task.