Thread: 7mm-08 reloading

7mm-08 reloading

Hi there, I have a question for you shooters of the 7mm-08. I have been reloading this round for about 1 1/2 years. My bullet of choice is the Nosler 140gr Partition, or accubond. My question is what type of powder are you using on your reloads, and how do they preform? I have used IMR 3031, H4198, BLC-2, and my best results have been with the Winchester 760. What do you use, and how does it preform for you? My silhouette shooting is at about 5500 ft, and hunting is up to 12,000ft. and during hunting it can be anywhere from 70 degrees to 40 below. Thanks for your input.

Re: 7mm-08 reloading

So far I have only used H4895 and Varget on my 7mm-08 with good results using 120gr Nosler BT and 130gr Speer BTSP. Average 5-shot groups had been between 0.8"-1.2" @100yds without much fine tuning. I've found a couple of combinations that produced really tiny groups but not consistently(partly because of the nut behind the trigger).
    I've also used H4350 on the 130gr Speer with ok results. This year I would like to try it again (H4350) but this time using Nosler 140gr Accubonds.

I think the powders you've listed are a tad fast for the 7mm-08 case with the exception of the W760 which falls between Varget and H4350. Moreover, I would suggest you try H4350 since it being an "Extreme" powder, it should not be sensitive to temperature changes.

Good Luck and Welcome to the forum

35RMB

I used H-4895 with both 120's and 140's
    Ernie

"The Un-Tactical"

I've only tried Varget so far. However, with 120gr Sierra GK's and no load development/tweaking whatsoever they did sub MOA out of my Remington 700 right off the bat:

- I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
    "It's far easier to start out learning to be precise and then speeding up, than it is having never "mastered" the weapon, and trying to be precise." - Dan C

760 ball works best for me, too.

Varget under a 139 grain SST