Home Main Category Hunting

Let's talk hand-held GPS gear.....

5280 shooter II5280 shooter II Senior MemberPosts: 3,923 Senior Member
I've been using a Garmin Etrex for a couple years.....it gives me MGRS data to match with MGRS maps.....but looking to upgrade for areas I don't have a map on......what should I be looking at these days? I want topo-map...but don't really need the ability to send data....radio-communicate...or Twitter....:tooth:
God show's mercy on drunks and dumb animals.........two outa three ain't a bad score!

Replies

• ZeeZee Senior Member Posts: 28,060 Senior Member
    I have but still resist using GPS. Just more batteries to deal with.

Still prefer maps and dead reconing with terrain features.
    "To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith
  • Ernie BishopErnie Bishop Senior Member WyomingPosts: 8,566 Senior Member
    I need to check and see which one I have, but mine does have a topo map, and I like it. I don't use it very often. It is a nice aid to have if you are unfamiliar where you are. But one thing with technology is, it will fail at some point, so be prepared with that in mind.
    I've been using a Garmin Etrex for a couple years.....it gives me MGRS data to match with MGRS maps.....but looking to upgrade for areas I don't have a map on......what should I be looking at these days? I want topo-map...but don't really need the ability to send data....radio-communicate...or Twitter....:tooth:
    Ernie

"The Un-Tactical"
  • 5280 shooter II5280 shooter II Senior Member Posts: 3,923 Senior Member
    I hear ya! Battery life sucks in the cold. But I like knowing where I'm at on a map in the forested areas where terrain features are nil. I will still carry the good ole MIL compass with the tritium for night-use. Time to replace it with a new one by now....been a few years for that one!