Considering living in a trailer park, fill me in

shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior MemberPosts: 5,389 Senior Member
I have accepted an oil field job while I wait for the Army to activate me for Flight School. The area I'm going has very little housing available in the way of houses and apartments, and living in a trailer park has been suggested.

What do I need to know? I have never done this before and neither have my parents. I am considering purchasing a FEMA style trailer ($4000-$6000) for the time I need it and then selling once I leave.

I don't even know where to start, so any info is greatly appreciated.
- I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
"It's far easier to start out learning to be precise and then speeding up, than it is having never "mastered" the weapon, and trying to be precise." - Dan C

Replies

• SirGeorgeKillianSirGeorgeKillian Senior Member Posts: 5,458 Senior Member
    Trailer parks are no different than any other neighborhood. You got good ones and you got bad ones. North Charleston was on the FBI list for most violent cities, and I could show you some trailer parks that are like an oasis away from it all. Then again, I could show you some that we would probably get mugged just driving through :jester:
    Unless life also hands you water and sugar, your lemonade is gonna suck!
    Wambli Ska wrote: »
    I'm in love with a Glock
  • shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior Member Posts: 5,389 Senior Member
    I figured as much. Where I will be living is largely (almost entirely) an oil town, so the community I am looking at will probably be occupied by folks working 90hrs weeks and only returning to sleep, shower, and eat. This calls for further investigation.

On a similar note, is buying one of those $5000 "FEMA" trailers a wise choice?
    "It's far easier to start out learning to be precise and then speeding up, than it is having never "mastered" the weapon, and trying to be precise." - Dan C