And the great Cat debate continues........................

orchidmanorchidman Senior MemberPosts: 7,731 Senior Member
A long article and most of you will probably not even bother reading it......and I dont blame you.

But, what does stand out for me is the TNR policy that our local SPCA practices. 'Trap, Neuter, Release' of stray cats instead of putting them down. As a wildlife officer, I am only too well aware of the ability of cats to decimate wildlife like small birds, nesting chicks, lizards, insects etc.

I have been trapping wild/stray cats that have set up home in the neighbourhood and using my orchid houses as both a food source ( they kill the birds that feed on snails etc and act as unpaid guardians of my plants) and as a playground ( both pulling out plant watering 'wands' and leaving 'odours' on flowers which then cant be exported) and delivering them to the local pound. It seems my efforts are being rewarded by the organisation taking a 'soft' attitude to the problem. When I trap them and turn them over, I am expected to make a 'voluntary' donation to cover the costs.........instead of making the donation in precious metals, I may consider saving the cost of petrol and substituting a lead 'donation' .

http://nz.news.yahoo.com/a/-/top-stories/15978581/war-of-words-bob-kerridge-vs-gareth-morgan/

Feel free to discuss the 2 different points of view...........
Still enjoying the trip of a lifetime and making the best of what I have.....

Replies

• TeachTeach Senior Member Posts: 18,418 Senior Member
    The 3-S approach is always simple and effective.
    Jerry
    Hide and wail in terror, Eloi- - - -We Morlocks are on the hunt!
    ASK-HOLE Someone who asks for advice and always does something opposite
  • 1hogfan831hogfan83 Member Posts: 282 Member