Home Main Category Personal Defense

Glaser Blue Safety Slugs

tommythegreektommythegreek New MemberPosts: 15 New Member
I went shooting today at the range and had a blast. I can definitely tell that my aim and technique, while still extremely newbish, is getting really good and comfortable. So before I left I needed to buy some home defense rounds for my .38. The salesman asked what I was looking for in a bullet and I told him that I needed something that isn't going to penetrate three walls and lodge itself into any of my three small children. He immediately brought out Glaser Safety Slugs and told me that in his home he swore by them since he had children as well. Needless to say I picked them up. I will never say that a bullet is too expensive as long as it puts down a BG and it doesn't go through the walls to my children's rooms. Being that I am still new to all of this I was wondering if you guys use or have used these bullets. You guys are the experts...I'm counting on you!

Replies

• knitepoetknitepoet Senior Member Posts: 21,101 Senior Member
    They aren't my favorite. To be honest, I'm not a big fan of any of the prefragmented bullets.
    A lot of folks seem to swear by them though
    Seven Habits of Highly Effective Pirates, Rule #37: There is no “overkill”. There is only “open fire” and “I need to reload”.

• gunrunner428gunrunner428 Senior Member Posts: 1,018 Senior Member
    IMHO - take it for what it's worth - the Glasers are beyond HD/PD ammo and get into a specific specialty niche. When they hit the market, they were aimed at LE/security use in high-crowd areas or other situations where overpenetration would be a bad thing.