Home Main Category Hunting

Guns and Ammo .308 article

shawn1172shawn1172 Senior MemberPosts: 588 Senior Member
Anyone read it? I'd post a link but don't know how on my phone. Basically craps on the .308 as a long range hunting round. I'm no ballistics expert but there are points I agree with and some I don't. Just wondering about the forum's opinion of the article.

Replies

• ZeeZee Senior Member Posts: 23,989 Senior Member
    Using the 168gr A-Max, the .308 Winchester is a very effective hunting round out to 600 yards for medium game.
    "To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith
  • Ernie BishopErnie Bishop Senior Member Posts: 7,482 Senior Member
    I couldn't help myself, I responded to the author's article.
    It ended up putting my response about in the middle of everyone else though.
    I could help myself, but it just wasn't a fair apples to apples comparison.
    Ernie

"The Un-Tactical"
    I agree that comparing the .308 Winchester to the .300 WM was kind of an "oh really" moment.
  • BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 8,258 Senior Member
    The .308 became a sniping round because the M14 and M60 chambered it, NOT because it was the best long range game in town. The .30-06 was a better heavy-bullet driver then, and it's a better heavy bullet driver now - and the .300 Win Mag was already on the block at the time. But you have to remember that was the age of McNamara and one piece of equipment to solve all problems, so the "one cartridge for three roles" concept looked better on paper than it panned out in real life. Notice today we have the 5.56 for general rifleman use, 7.62/.308 for the GPMG and DM's, and snipers making a shift to various magnums. True, the .308 happened to be passable enough to fill the lead sniping role for 3-4 decades, but when you look close at the stories of guys who REALLY stretched its legs you often see several common factors: