Home Main Category Hunting

Male or female elk?

BigDanSBigDanS Senior MemberPosts: 6,992 Senior Member
Without antlers, I am no expert.

Is this a bull or cow? We thought cow...

elk_zpsdefd296d.jpg
"A patriot is mocked, scorned and hated; yet when his cause succeeds, all men will join him, for then it costs nothing to be a patriot." Mark Twain
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.... now who's bringing the hot wings? :jester:

Replies

• snake284snake284 Senior Member Posts: 22,429 Senior Member
    BigDanS wrote: »

elk_zpsdefd296d.jpg

I'm not real sharp on Elk Anatomy. Without antlers this time of year, it's a crap shoot for me.
    Daddy, what's an enabler?
    Son that's somebody with nothing to do with his time but keep me in trouble with mom.
  • ZeeZee Senior Member Posts: 26,090 Senior Member
    Cow.
    "To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith
  • LinefinderLinefinder Moderator Posts: 7,536 Senior Member
    Cow.

Mike
    "Walking away seems to be a lost art form."
    N454casull
  • RazorbackerRazorbacker Senior Member Posts: 4,646 Senior Member
    Zee wrote: »
    Cow.

Concur, at first glace, then I went back and looked more closely and I still think so. We don't really have much for scale but there are clues. For one thing she's ever so slightly sausage backed. A bull will have more of a straight line back. I guess with out scale it could be young of the year but I just gon't think so. BTW whoever took that pic did a great job and rhose look like long range targets in the back ground.
    Teach your children to love guns, they'll never be able to afford drugs
  • NNNN Senior Member Posts: 25,005 Senior Member
    Pencile necked geek
    cow
  • JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 17,674 Senior Member
    Cow....A bull this time of year still has rather prominent nubs on his head where his antlers used to be....

elk_zps1a65853c.jpg
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"