Potential change in the works.

2»

Replies

• CHIRO1989CHIRO1989 Senior Member Posts: 10,928 Senior Member
    agewon wrote: »
    When I was a service tech years ago, the company was charging 4x my hourly rate, portal to portal. That covered my salary, overhead and had profit in there too. The key was to keep me on the road so that the billing cycle never had a lull, because me standing around ate up the last visits profit.
    At this company, I was pretty much in charge of new projects, and nobody in the plant knew the equipment like me. I'd let a guy work on a piece of machinery for an hour before I walked over and fixed it within a few minutes. What seemed like a waste of time and money to those boys was in my eyes a teaching lesson. The only reason I could troubleshoot and fix things Over the phone was because I was the one who sat for hours if needed to fix it in the past. That's not good for a business, to put all your eggs in one basket.
    So by them always coming to me for a quick resolution instead of being patient and allowing someone else to work the problem, they made me that much more valuable. So in my mind, here's what'll happen; an issue will arise, and the new guy will be tasked to resolve it. After a few hours they'll gut frustrated and call me. I'll give them over the phone consult and if need be, come by after work. Phone consultations will be 100$/ call up to 30min, and in house resolutions will be 150/hr. I like to see it as more a deterrent. For the most part of the day I'll be my own boss at the new company, but I'm not about to sham the new company by being on the phone.
    Now if they want me to come in and set-up and trial a new product, that's gonna be 1k per Saturday. Weather it be a few hours or a whole day, they're gonna pay for my experience.

Needless to say, but, in writing before any work is done and at least some partial, if not full payment, up front.