Number of Rounds per Year

DeerdudeDeerdude BannedPosts: 1 New Member
Hi everybody,

I'm kinda new in the hunting business, and I'm trying to figure out how many rounds does the average hunter buy a year. Any ideas? How much ammo do you guys buy each year for hunting?

Replies

• JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 15,055 Senior Member
    Welcome...there is a HUGE difference between the folks that hang out here and the "average" hunter. In truth (IMHO)I think the "average" person buys a box of ammo a year and is jumping up and down, clapping his hands happy if he can slop three of that box into a pie plate at a hundred yards....the expectations of most of the folks here are set a tad higher than that....

I honestly could not tell you how much ammo I "buy" every year because, by and large, I load everything I shoot. Conservatively, I probably run through 500 to a 1000 rounds a year in my quest of "getting what I settle for" with the comparatively large number of rifles I have....some years more, some years less...

The number of rounds I use actually hunting as opposed to preparing for hunting is a small fraction of those rounds.
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"
  • wildgenewildgene Senior Member Posts: 1,036 Senior Member
    ...my granpa used to go 2-3 seasons w/ the same box (20 rounds) of ammo, I "used" 5 rounds last fall for two elk & a mule deer buck. Still, I try to shoot @ least a box a mo. thru my hunting rifles, don't always quite make it. It's like riding a bike, once you learn, you got it, but if you haven't done it for a while, you tend to be a little shaky @ first, so around say, 500-700 rounds a yr., throw in the .223 varmint rifle & 6.5 Creedmoor toy & that doubles pretty easily...

...but a box a mo. or 100 rounds a yr. is a good target, more is better...
  • Ranch13Ranch13 Senior Member Posts: 820 Senior Member