I still get squeamish when gutting game, am I the only one?

shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior MemberPosts: 5,445 Senior Member
The title kind of says it all, but I've been hunting for about 7 years now and I still get a little squeamish when I gut an animal. It was the same thing for me in HS biology, got a little squeamish whenever dissecting came around.

It's all part of the hunt, so I still do it, and I'll even dig around a gut pile to try and find a bullet (my 7mm-08 usually passes through and through though), but I don't particularly like it much. Am I the only one?
- I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
"Slow is smooth, smooth is fast, and speed is the economy of motion" - Scott Jedlinski

Replies

• shawn1172shawn1172 Senior Member Posts: 588 Senior Member
    You're not alone. I've been hunting for 28 years and I still get a bit squeemish when the cutting starts. Not too bad though. Never thrown up or anything. For me, the worst part is cutting off the poor boys nether regions and cutting out the but hole. The gut, lungs etc aren't that big a deal. Unless it's a gut shot..... then that part can be the worst. My cousin is the worst I've seen. He's been hunting longer than me and gutted more deer but he has the hardest time with it. I've witnessed him lose his breakfast a couple times.
    Worst guttiing experience- the first moose hunt I went on. My dad shot a cow just after she'd been getting it on with the local bull. There was..... stuff. Alot of it. I will say no more.
  • BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 7,151 Senior Member
    Hopefully, I'll be able to tell you in about a week.:tooth: