Home Main Category General Firearms

Lyman 55 drop tube too short... need a longer one or suggestions.

BigDanSBigDanS Senior MemberPosts: 6,992 Senior Member
I have an older Lyman 55 powder measure. I mounted it in a Lyman powder stand, and the drop tube does not protrude far enough to place the scale pan directly against it, to keep powder from splashing off the sides.

Looks kind of like this:

NO55STAND.jpg

Notice the drop tube just protrudes about 1/2 an inch.

An alternative would be to drop the charge into a container that would catch it all and then dump it in the scale pan.

( I SOOOO need a Chargemaster... just $300! )

Recently I loaded some 45-70's and even placing the cartridge mouth against it was not optimal.

Perhaps as a rookie I am missing something?

D
"A patriot is mocked, scorned and hated; yet when his cause succeeds, all men will join him, for then it costs nothing to be a patriot." Mark Twain
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.... now who's bringing the hot wings? :jester:

Replies

• JermanatorJermanator Senior Member Posts: 16,244 Senior Member
    Yep. Fix that problem with a Chargemaster.
    Reason obeys itself; and ignorance submits to whatever is dictated to it.
    -Thomas Paine
  • ZeeZee Senior Member Posts: 27,467 Senior Member
    Jermanator wrote: »
    Yep. Fix that problem with a Chargemaster.

:that:
    "To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith
  • TeachTeach Senior Member Posts: 18,428 Senior Member
    Epoxy a short piece of arrow shaft to the bottom of the fixture. When I really need to use a drop tube, like when the powder charge is approaching a compressed load, I use a full-length arrow shaft with a powder funnel Acra-Glassed to the top. It's surprising how much a load compresses when it drops a couple of feet into a case!
    Jerry

EDIT: Even a piece of a heavy-walled plastic soda straw would work as an extender.
  • JermanatorJermanator Senior Member Posts: 16,244 Senior Member