Home Main Category General Firearms

Reloading scale...

Bill M.Bill M. MemberPosts: 65 Member
Sad day. I broke my Lymans M5 scale I have been using since 1967. I need to replace it. What say ye, should I get another beam type or go for an digital. One that looks good is the Lyman 2000 with the little tricolor on it. Anybody use a 2000?

Replies

• tubabucknuttubabucknut Banned Posts: 3,520 Senior Member
    I use a RCBS charge master and dispenser. I would never voluntarily go back to a beam scale. I have never used the Lyman 2000.
  • WeatherbyWeatherby Senior Member Posts: 4,953 Senior Member
    If you go the RCBS charge master route........you'll be glad the Lyman broke
  • JasonMPDJasonMPD Senior Member Posts: 6,535 Senior Member
    I've considered electronic scales/dispensers for years, but I can't get away from hand pouring and hand weighing powder.
    “There are three kinds of men. The one that learns by reading. The few who learn by observation. The rest of them have to pee on the electric fence for themselves.” – Will Rogers
  • breamfisherbreamfisher Senior Member Posts: 13,490 Senior Member
    I prefer electronic scales. I would consider a RCBS Chargemaster, if I had the money, but I don't load enough precision rifle ammo at this point to make it worthwhile. For handguns and high volume plinking .223, a digital scale does just fine by me.
    Overkill is underrated.
  • jaywaptijaywapti Senior Member Posts: 4,931 Senior Member
    I use an older Dillon electronic with a powder trickler, still have some beam scales, but never use the them

The electronic scales are much faster and easier to use.

JAY
    THE DEFINITION OF GUN CONTROL IS HITTING THE TARGET WITH YOUR FIRST SHOT
  • Gene LGene L Senior Member Posts: 11,624 Senior Member