Couple of Hog Hunting Questions

scottdscottd MemberPosts: 87 Member
I am planning a hog hunt in early April and I have a few gear related questions, mainly surrounding bullet selection. As it stands right now my primary gun will be my 45-70 with plans to run a 350gr Speer HP. Recently I was able to acquire a 300 blackout which has potential to serve as an interesting hunting round. Any advice regarding the 300 blackout as a hog gun? My research has turned up very little concrete information about the 300 blackout as a hog round. With that in mind, what type of bullet would be best for hogs? Any help is appreciated.

Replies

• timctimc Senior Member Posts: 6,684 Senior Member
    I don't know if I'm an expert but I have been putting hogs in their final resting place for many years. The 45/70 will work just fine but for me it is really much more gun than you need for hog hunting; my preference is an AR-10 in .308.

With that said I have been playing with the .300 Blackout this season and have found it to be surprisingly good at dispatching hogs at ranges out to 200 yards; yes it will work farther than that but it is starting to bleed off energy very fast after that and trajectory gets kind of softball like. I am running Barnes 110 grain Varmageddon bullets pushed by 19.7 grains of H-110 which gives me 2465 fps out of my AR with a 16" barrel.

These two pigs were taken using the Blackout at ranges of 160 and 180 yards. Both were head shots, both DRT but not surprising because of my bullet choice there were no exit wounds.

8DAFF4A6-FE33-4BD5-8CEA-3D9D1C56F950_zps9yzkkkxy.jpg
    timc - formerly known as timc on the last G&A forum and timc on the G&A forum before that and the G&A forum before that.....
    AKA: Former Founding Member
  • scottdscottd Member Posts: 87 Member