Home Main Category Hunting

Thinking of giving up my hunting leas after 25 years on the same lease

timctimc Senior MemberPosts: 6,684 Senior Member
I've been hunting on the same ranch for 25 years. Since my dad past away in 2010 it really hasn't been the same out there. I have had a couple of buddies the have come in And hunted but non have stayed more than a year or two until they dropped out for various reasons. This year I asked the owner to allow two new hunters since it is back to just me but I was told not at this time but I could continue to hunt.

90% of the hunt to me is the fellowship in camp, BBQ, telling stories and just relaxing. I also promised my wife a couple years ago I would not hunt by myself since I'm no longer a young buck and she worries too much when I'm out by myself.

I'm thinking I am just going to call it quits and if I do get in the mood to hunt I'll just do a meat hunt on a game ranch, much cheaper and easier. I figure it has to come one day so might as well be now. The break away from hunting will also allow us to travel more which the wife does enjoy much more than the ranch.
timc - formerly known as timc on the last G&A forum and timc on the G&A forum before that and the G&A forum before that.....
AKA: Former Founding Member

Replies

• ZeeZee Senior Member Posts: 27,561 Senior Member
    When I no longer want to hunt..........ya'll can just bury me.
    "To Hell with efficiency, it's performance we want!" - Elmer Keith
  • bullsi1911bullsi1911 Moderator Posts: 12,080 Senior Member
    That would be a hard call to make.
    To make something simple is a thousand times more difficult than to make something complex.
    -Mikhail Kalashnikov
  • bisleybisley Senior Member Posts: 10,813 Senior Member
    It definitely isn't as much fun, by yourself.