Interesting hybrid 1911?

Wambli SkaWambli Ska ModeratorPosts: 26,710 Senior Member
Playing around... Combination of the Colt Commander slide and the Detonics Combatmaster frame. I might have to play with this to see if it works because it it does I might have some ideas for further experiments or even a full custom.

101E5A6B-6625-479B-910B-769DD1870D99.jpg
"Attack rapidly, ruthlessly, viciously, without rest, however tired and hungry you may be, the enemy will be more tired, more hungry. Keep punching." General George S. Patton

Replies

• NNNN Senior Member Posts: 23,152 Senior Member
    :popcorn:
    This message has been deleted
  • Elk creekElk creek Senior Member Posts: 5,365 Senior Member
    The mix master!. Kimber made a Custom Compact a while back. It was an officer sized frame with a commander slide and barrel. It looks very similar to the unholy Union you assembled there:tooth:. I owned one and loved it. It was my BUG when I was a police officer. Sadly it went down the road to pay for something during "the lean year".
    Aim higher, or get a bigger gun.
  • Elk creekElk creek Senior Member Posts: 5,365 Senior Member

For your viewing pleasure.
    Aim higher, or get a bigger gun.
  • bullsi1911bullsi1911 Moderator Posts: 9,311 Senior Member
    Detonics used to make a long slide/ compact frame version back in the early 80s I think. For IWB carry, it makes sense.
    To make something simple is a thousand times more difficult than to make something complex.
    -Mikhail Kalashnikov
  • DanChamberlainDanChamberlain Senior Member Posts: 3,082 Senior Member
    OSI1911A1p123_zpsff82e210.jpg

I carried one for many years as a Special Agent with AFOSI. Liked it a lot.
    It's a source of great pride for me, that when my name is googled, one finds book titles and not mug shots. Daniel C. Chamberlain
  • cpjcpj Senior Member Posts: 37,992 Senior Member
    Since title is in the form of a question, I'll answer.

No.