Home Main Category Personal Defense

Spyderco question

CHIRO1989CHIRO1989 Senior MemberPosts: 12,425 Senior Member
I have a friend travelling to Japan this year:
Are Spyderco's a better bargain if purchased in Japan?
Any particular models stand out as an EDC to those that have owned them?
Do they have Spyderco storefronts or are they sold in sporting goods/hardware store/ specialty shops?

I have no experience with them other than fondling them, my budget would be in the $100-125 range.
Thanks
I take no pleasure in the death of the wicked, but rather that they turn away from their ways and live. Eze 33:11

Replies

• BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 8,151 Senior Member
    Carried multiple Enduras for many years. Switched from serrated to plain edge - even with the proprietary sharpeners, plain is just easier to take care of.

Switched to a OD green/black blade Benchmade Griptilian a couple years ago when the last Endura got lost. Seems to be a better at edge retention, is smoother opening/closing, and can be opened with either the hole in the blade or by simply pulling the Axis lock backward and letting gravity or a wrist flick do the job.

Either way, online shopping is your friend. Try Blade HQ.
    WWJMBD?

"Nothing is safe from stupid." - Zee
  • NCFUBARNCFUBAR Senior Member Posts: 4,324 Senior Member
    Not being a world traveler I have no clue to the OP but I'll add a question ... What are the regulations on bringing evil knives into the US from out of the country? Knife laws in NC are clear as mud ... I am guessing import stuff is just as bad if not worse.
    “The further a society drifts from truth ... the more it will hate those who speak it."
    - George Orwell
  • CHIRO1989CHIRO1989 Senior Member Posts: 12,425 Senior Member
    My EDC when not at work is a Manix 2, made in Colorado. It's a little big for dress slacks but carries well in jeans or cargo pants/shorts. If I lost it, I would get another one.