Home Main Category Hunting

Your first game animal?

JerryBobCoJerryBobCo Senior MemberPosts: 7,930 Senior Member
and whatever else you wish to share about how/when/where you took it.

For me, it was a whitetail doe taken near Sonora, Tx. I was a freshman in high school, hunting with my dad. For those not familiar with the area around Sonora, it's fairly heavily wooded with mostly different species of oak. The county is also somewhat hilly, but most of the hills are what one might call rolling hills. In other words, it's not especially hard country to hunt.

I was walking up a wooded hill at mid-morning. I looked to my left, and there she stood, maybe 50 yards away. She presented a perfect broadside shot, and didn't seem the least bit leery of me. One shot from my Savage M340 30-30 and it was over. All things considered, it was pretty anti-climactic.

My first buck was much more exciting. I already posted some of the details on the latest .270 thread in the shooting portion of the forum, but might as well share it here.

It was a year after I took the doe, which meant I was 16 and a sophomore in high school. I had worked all summer long at a gas station and saved my money. We had the opportunity to get on a great lease near Pandale, Tx for $100, but Dad didn't have the money to swing it. He told me that if I wanted to go in halves, we could do it. I jumped at the chance and gave him $50 without a second thought. It was money well spent.

Pandale is between Ozona and Del Rio, near the Pecos river. The country can be described as desert, and features mostly small canyons that may be a mile or so long and 200-400 yards deep. It's possible to stand on one side of a canyon and have a makeable shot at a deer on the other side. There are some bigger canyons, though.