Home Main Category General Firearms

S&W vs. SA

pjames777pjames777 Senior MemberPosts: 1,421 Senior Member
S&W Model SD VE versus Springfield XD pistols. Any opinions or advice? Leaning towards the XD in .45 ACP. Might consider a Glock in .45 ACP as well. (I have 3,000 casing for .45 ACP to reload.)

Thanks gentlemen for your input.

Patrick

Replies

• Johnny rebJohnny reb Member Posts: 715 Senior Member
    I have no experience with the S&w. I have too of the xds in 45 they both shoot very well for me. I have had no problems as far as feeding or a failure too fire, other than one of them stove piping with some of the blazer steel cased rounds and that was only 2 times within the first 100 rounds thru it. They both have over a 1000 rounds thru them now. I'd have no problem Buying another.
  • bobbyrlf3bobbyrlf3 Senior Member Posts: 2,597 Senior Member
    Have you had the chance to try the trigger on each? In my experience, the Springfield's trigger is far superior. Enough that the price difference wouldn't matter to me.
    Knowledge is essential to living freely and fully; understanding gives knowledge purpose and strength; wisdom is combining the two and applying them appropriately in words and actions.
  • NNNN Senior Member Posts: 25,179 Senior Member
    My #2 son has an SV
    a piece of junk
    I gave him my PT 92 he is better off.
  • NNNN Senior Member Posts: 25,179 Senior Member
    I have an XDm and like it.
  • BAMAAKBAMAAK Senior Member Posts: 4,484 Senior Member
    SDVE is a Sigma with some changes. Sigma was a poor copy of a glock. You look at Shields or M&Ps? Both good guns and the shield as a rebate going on.
    "He only earns his freedom and his life Who takes them every day by storm."

-- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, German writer and politician
  • pjames777pjames777 Senior Member Posts: 1,421 Senior Member
    bobbyrlf3 wrote: »