Poor in Merica

VarmintmistVarmintmist Senior MemberPosts: 6,461 Senior Member

Dont know if you can read the white sign, but I have been passing this for a few months. I got stopped at the light this morning right in front of it so I got a pic.
The white sign reads POOR MATTER with "also" written in between smaller. The bike is about 3-4 years old. A Suzuki M90 from the looks of it. MSRP 12K, current value 7K aka cycletrader if my age guess is correct. One would think that there is about 7K available to the "poor" person in this case. It would probably put 35% down on that house.

Now, I like scooters, and if you have the right one, it can be a economical way to get to work. Like a 1975 twin. (fyi, unless he is working shifts, this bike seems to be parked here a lot more often than it is gone) Not a new production cruiser where the rear tire is going to run 200+ if you dismount the wheel yourself.
It's boring, and your lack of creativity knows no bounds.

Replies

• bisleybisley Senior Member Posts: 10,552 Senior Member
    There is a difference between poor and worthless. A poor man is one who works hard for not enough money, due to lack of skill or opportunity. A worthless man is one who won't work at a poor man's job, because he can buy a $7000 vehicle, a color TV, and a six-pack a day with taxpayer money.

I guess a sign that said,"Worthless Llives Also Matter" wouldn't tug at the heart-strings sufficiently enough.
  • tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 25,786 Senior Member
    I've seen a lot of poor people from Appalachia. They work for a living, but can't get ahead. But they work themselves into the ground to provide for their families. I've also seen a lot of worthless people too trifling to work as taste testers in a pie factory, too. The work ethic of the latter is nonexistent; they think the world owes them a living.
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.