Did you draw/Get any tags?

2»

Replies

• Six-GunSix-Gun Senior Member Posts: 6,817 Senior Member
    edited June 26 #32
    Just found out this past week that, after stashing some points over the past few years, I got drawn for Iowa archery on my very first application.  There is an abundance of quality deer in that state, both bucks and does, and I have plenty of archery experience after my stint in Ohio to feel confident in getting it done.  To say I'm excited would be putting it mildly.

The plan is to hunt a mix of my buddy's property over there and some quality public land as the season allows.  As a non-resident, that means I will have one whitetail doe and another either-sex whitetail tag for this coming Fall.  It should make for a great time.

I also put in for a doe tag in the South Dakota Black Hills unit.  Results for that will be a while, but it should be a sure draw barring a major application surge.
    Accuracy: because white space between bullet holes drives me insane.
  • JayJay Senior Member Posts: 2,940 Senior Member

Nice! Sounds like it'll be a fun hunt and a good chance to put some meat in the freezer. 

I'm starting to get the bug worse and worse.  Just counting down till fall.  Between dove in September, quail starting in October and the deer hunt in November, I'm looking forward to getting out and having some fun.  I also just realized, quail season will overlap my deer hunt and I've seen a good amount of quail not far from where I'll be hunting deer.  Guess I'll be taking a shotgun and a centerfire gun out. Maybe hunt deer in the morning, then lunch and some quail hunting down the road, then back to the deer in the afternoon.

Muzzleloader cow, bear rifle,  doe antelope rifle,  2nd season buck (2nd choice. Need them points!!) Montana buck tag, put in for the muley doe tag and will likely buy the otc whitetail tag in August.  

Gonna be a busy fall!

Definitely sounds like you'll be busy.  But that's the fun kind of busy..