Savage 24 repair

FreezerFreezer Senior MemberPosts: 1,496 Senior Member
I was at the LGS the other day and saw a Savage 24 in a box that I assumed correctly was heading for the junk. I sold one before my move and have regretted it. I inquired about it and the owner said the frame was cracked. This LGS doesn't do much gunsmith work. Is this something that could be welded? If yes this could be a nice tinker project.
I like Elmer Keith; I married his daughter :wink:

Replies

• knitepoetknitepoet Senior Member Posts: 18,940 Senior Member
    Being a break open, I wouldn't think so.

However, I have no actual knowledge, other than a S.W.A.G
    Seven Habits of Highly Effective Pirates, Rule #37: There is no “overkill”. There is only “open fire” and “I need to reload”.

• WeatherbyWeatherby Senior Member Posts: 4,780 Senior Member
    I think it would depend some on where it was cracked and also what it was chambered in.
    I regret not picking one up that was 410/22 mag.
  • Big Al1Big Al1 Senior Member Posts: 7,073 Senior Member
    Depends on the chambering. if it's a .22/.410 maybe, anything bigger I wouldn't trust it.
  • FreezerFreezer Senior Member Posts: 1,496 Senior Member
    Mine was 410/22 mag with a scope that was red illuminated for hunting squirrels in the dark trees. It looked bad when I bought it for $75 but it cleaned up very well.

I may stop by the LGS today and ask about it.
  • snake284snake284 Senior Member Posts: 21,909 Senior Member
    I also would think it depends on where it was cracked. If it's not right in the breach area you might could.  Also, Like was said a 410/22 mag is low enough pressure it might not be a big deal.
    Daddy, what's an enabler?
    Son that's somebody with nothing to do with his time but keep me in trouble with mom.
  • tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 26,180 Senior Member
    edited July 2018 #7