Home Main Category Personal Defense

AR for home defense!!

Smw2258Smw2258 Posts: 1 New Member
I am 100 percent pro 2nd amendment, have lost your mind. I have owned firearms since my first Crosman 760, I am A Vet. (USCG). Pushing the AR Platform for home defense is , I will say it,  insane. Do you really want grandma or the teenager next door running around the house shooting 5.56 rounds through the walls. What else would you like to give the anti- 2nd amendment nuts to argue about. Obviously you gets lots of money from manufacturers to promote this, have the  balls to say no.

Replies

• earlyagainearlyagain Posts: 7,928 Senior Member
    I'd venture a guess that every LEO squad car in this municipal area has one in the trunk that's loaded with select department issue ammunition for use in a crowded urban area.

As far as Im concerned these rifles are absolutely needed for their work, and represent an excellent choice for many private citizens desirous of home protection.
  • breamfisherbreamfisher Senior Member Posts: 13,886 Senior Member
    If you're worried about overpenetration through walls...

.22 LR will go through 4 or more walls, 9mm HP through 5.

https://forums.gunsandammo.com/discussion/35384/i-use-xxxx-for-home-defense-to-prevent-overpenetration/p1

I'm just here for snark.
  • NCFUBARNCFUBAR Senior Member Posts: 4,324 Senior Member
    edited October 2018 #4
    Different strokes for different folks ... ARs are part of my HD setup (Speer 64gr Soft Point Gold Dots) as well as handguns and a shotgun. As far as wall penetration a .45acp, .40SW and 9mm will go thru as many if not more layers of interior wall board than 5.56. Unless you run specialty ammo like Glaser or such every round will penetrate at least a couple layers. Generalizations like you made in your OP might have some truth in over penetration but after that it loses traction when practical testing and application is applied.