Lake City Unprimed Brass, thoughts?

simplesimonsimplesimon MemberPosts: 48 Member
Does anybody have experience handloading Lake City Brass? Found what appears to be a deal on new brass, but I'm new to all this reloading/handloading stuff.

Replies

• JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 14,833 Senior Member
    Yes...it's good stuff and about all I use for .223...my last buy was from Old Dominion, $90.00 for 1,000, once fired, FL re-sized and with primer pocket crimp removed...all they needed was a trip through the tumbler...
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"
  • knitepoetknitepoet Senior Member Posts: 18,659 Senior Member
    I assume you're talking about the NEW lc brass that a few places have had recently. I've got 2 500 count boxes, one I'm currently using and the other "in reserve"
    It's good brass :up:

edited to add:
    http://www.berrysmfg.com/product-i14701-c6-g8-b0-p0-New_Lake_City_223_Brass___500_Count.aspx
    Seven Habits of Highly Effective Pirates, Rule #37: There is no “overkill”. There is only “open fire” and “I need to reload”.

• shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior Member Posts: 5,378 Senior Member
    Back when dad and I were shooting HP a lot all we'd use for the SR (200 and 300 yards) was reloads with LC brass. We stuck to Winchester cases for 600 yards though.
    - I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
    "It's far easier to start out learning to be precise and then speeding up, than it is having never "mastered" the weapon, and trying to be precise." - Dan C
  • PegasusPegasus Senior Member Posts: 2,552 Senior Member
    Agreed on that. LC brass is somewhat thin in .223/5.56 compared to Winchester or Lapua, but it is very good quality brass. I use LC brass for the short range (300 yards) and I use Winchester for the longer range 600-1000 yards. I have no experience with LC brass in other calibers.
  • simplesimonsimplesimon Member Posts: 48 Member