Home Main Category General Firearms

What do you look for in a great CLP or gun oil?

SevenFoxes07SevenFoxes07 Posts: 2 New Member
Hey everyone.

I'd love to know what you all look for in a good gun oil or CLP. I'm kinda new to gun ownership and I'm not sure what makes a CLP good.

I read that you shouldn't use CLP and instead separate the "cleaning" from the "lubricating" and "protecting" parts. Is that true?

I've also read a lot of good reviews on paste CLPs like FrogLube, but the bad reviews scare the bejeezus out of me...

Gumming up guns, making them unusable... ruining hunts (and potentially getting you killed in the wrong the situation!)

So, what kinds of things makes a CLP or gun oil great? Or, what should I definitely stay away from?

Thank you!

Replies

• SpkSpk Senior Member Posts: 3,962 Senior Member
    Personally, I don't look too deep into the requirements. Some folks do. They have different needs or expectations than I do and that's fine.
    Beyond CLP'ing, I want something that doesn't run off or evaporated/dry off to quickly. But I don't want it gumming up the works down the road.
    If you want a more detailed explanation. Read these reviews. It's a good starting point. Then go from there.

Gun Oils

CLP's

Never argue with stupid people, they will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience -- Mark Twain
    How easy it is to make people believe a lie, and [how] hard it is to undo that work again! -- Mark Twain

• JayhawkerJayhawker Moderator Posts: 16,917 Senior Member
    edited April 2019 #3
    The OP would probably be surprised at the number of folks who use automotive products to lube their firearms...
    Mobile One synthetic for most of my firearms
    Synthetic Automatic Transmission Fluid for my ARs...
    Sharps Model 1874 - "The rifle that made the west safe for Winchester"
  • WeatherbyWeatherby Senior Member Posts: 4,953 Senior Member
    edited April 2019 #4
    I'm  with Jayhawk and throw some kroil in too.