Home Main Category Clubhouse

Need some help fella's: Questions about machining and milling for a complete noob.

DrawbarFlatsDrawbarFlats Posts: 788 Senior Member
edited June 2020 in Clubhouse #1
I know some of you have a lot of experience and expertise in machining and milling so my question is what course of action should a complete noob like me take to get started? I know almost nothing about the tools and equipment but I do have years of experience in model building everything from wooden model airplanes to model ships so I'm not a complete idiot on the subject - Haha! Seriously though, any suggestions and tips would be greatly appreciated. As mentioned in my other thread I'm a nut for live model steam engines and I always wanted to build my own beginners model steam engine from cast parts that are available for the steam engine enthusiast. Questions I have are: what basic equipment do I need such as good quality (but not break the bank) lathes, mills, tools etc. Should I take some classes? Are there any good quality American made lathes and mills still available? I've always been fascinated with creating something from metal. Thanks for any suggestions, Gentlemen! 

Btw, when I say steam engines, I'm not referring to trains but more inline with small stationary engines. 

Replies

• bhl2506bhl2506 Senior Member Posts: 1,962 Senior Member
    I'm on my way out the door right now. I will tell you how I got started out without going broke when I get back.
    Refusing to conform to the left wing mantra of political correctness by insisting on telling the truth does not make you a loud mouth.
  • DrawbarFlatsDrawbarFlats Posts: 788 Senior Member
    bhl2506 said:
    I'm on my way out the door right now. I will tell you how I got started out without going broke when I get back.
    Much appreciated bhl2506. Look forward to it. Got to head out myself so I wont be able to reply till this evening. Thanks again!