Home Main Category Clubhouse

Covid update

Jeff in TXJeff in TX Senior MemberJ&D Ranch - North Central TXPosts: 2,548 Senior Member
I got out of the hospital on Nov 12th.  I started rehab on 16th.  I could walk one lap around the indoor track at the rehab facility which is 68 yards.  I had to use the walker and my physical therapist held my belt to keep me steady. 

I've progressed fairly well.  Yesterday I walked a half mile on my own though I'm gonna try a mile maybe two this weekend.  I've gained 12 pounds and still need to gain another 12.  My strength is a lot better though not great.  I can pick up our 7lb yorkie now without fear dropping him.  They have me working on all the weight machines and each week I keep adding the next weight level.  I think they're helping the most!

I started back to work 1/2 days on the 14th of Dec.  More normalcy in my life.  I'm an engineer so I work from my home office at my computer.  It's been good getting back into the swing of things.  I still need at least an hour nap each day.  I'm usually in bed around 9:30 and up at 8 or maybe 8:15.  I go to rehab from 10 to 11 each morning, come home and nap for an hour.  They wear me out but it's all good.

I go back full time next Monday the 4th.  I'm not tied to a clock or given working hours so I'll still get my nap in.  Folks don't understand what a toll this took on my body though my wife sees it.  Naps are good and really help me make it through the rest of the day.

I have a doctors appt with my Pulmanologist next Tuesday in Dallas.  Lots of testing and lung x-rays.  Last time I saw him I asked him when I would get back to normal.  He said maybe late spring early summer.  Then said it may be a new normal.  Then a full physical on Friday!