Home Main Category Clubhouse

Welding

JayJay Senior MemberPosts: 4,367 Senior Member
edited August 2021 in Clubhouse #1
I started learning the basics of welding as a teenager, building pipe fences and horse pens with a guy where I worked at the time. I learned a little more in high school ag classes with a lot more hands on welding using different processes. Fast forward 25 years, I've used some of that knowledge now and then for repairs and projects here and there. But I haven't done it nearly enough to be anywhere close to proficient.

Recently I've rekindled my interest in welding and started purchasing some equipment. While I wish I had the budget to buy higher end, American made machines, I just don't right now. There are a lot of tested and reviewed Chinese made machines on the market these days that are REALLY nice, good working machines. Including the Vulcan brand from Harbor Freight, among others. Plus, inverter technology has come a LONG ways in the last 10 years and these new compact inverter machines can do so much more in such a small package. I spent some time researching some machines and went with a good balance of features and good reviews for longevity and performance. Another very important aspect is that they use common consumables. I didn't want to buy a machine that used proprietary parts that I might not be able to get later. So the welders I got use the same standard DINSE connectors and consumables used by popular name brand machines.