Home Main Category General Firearms

Double barrels/Over & Under's single/double triggers

Jeff in TXJeff in TX Senior MemberJ&D Ranch - North Central TXPosts: 2,551 Senior Member
I admit, I have no experience with single triggers on a double barrel or over and under.  I have my pops old AYA double barrel from the early 50's.  It has two trigger and works great.  For the life of me, I can't understand why they changed to a single trigger system.

My question, is a single trigger system better, if so how.  I can't see a follow up shot being faster than having two triggers.

Educate me on this please.

Thanks
Distance is not an issue, but the wind can make it interesting!

John 3: 1-21

Replies

• Wambli SkaWambli Ska Posts: 4,622 Senior Member
    I've shot both and yes the single trigger is a hair faster.  NOW, in practical terms, I believe that is only really useful if you miss the first shot and are still tracking the same target.  For me, reality is that if you have multiple targets having to move your finger from trigger 1 to trigger 2 while acquiring your sight picture on second target is really not an issue and probably a desirable speed bump so you don't rush shot number 2.

My Weatherby Orion is a single trigger gun and I can let go of two shots fast enough that it makes it almost sound like one.  No real practical application for such a thing...

It’s a °IIIII° thing 😎

• Jeff in TXJeff in TX Senior Member J&D Ranch - North Central TXPosts: 2,551 Senior Member
    Is it one pull for the first shot, a further pull for the second shot?  Sort of like a two stage trigger.  Or one pull, move a lever and pull again? Sorry, I've just never handled one and I have no idea.

Is it one pull for the first shot, a further pull for the second shot?  Sort of like a two stage trigger.  Or one pull, move a lever and pull again? Sorry, I've just never handled one and I have no idea.