CCW update.

Big Al1Big Al1 Senior MemberPosts: 7,246 Senior Member
Wife and I went to the Dept of Agriculture in Ft. Walton and applied for our CCW's. They do everything there, photos and fingerprints, etc. Took about 45 minutes. Got our permits in less than a week. I like the one stop shopping!! Saved a lot of running around and then the looong wait if you mail everything in. I know all states are different, but if you can go in person, that's the way to go!!

Replies

• EliEli Senior Member Posts: 3,074 Senior Member
    I've no experience with the mailed type, but I agree, doing it in person is way better.

B'ham Shooter and I had a thread going on the old forum, where for the last few years we timed how long it takes to renew our permit.

In '09 there was a couple in front of me, both getting theirs, so it ended up taking about two minutes (from the time I opened the door to the sheriff's office until the time I stepped back outside), in '10 and this year I was the only person in line, and I got out of there in under a minute both times.

I read on here about folks in some states having to send theirs in weeks in advance........that just boggles the mind.
  • olesniperolesniper Senior Member Posts: 3,763 Senior Member
    It was like that, here, when I first applied for my permit. Now, they insist on electronically scanned fingerprints and the nearest Sheriff's office that's set up for that is in the next county. Good for 4 years and renewal can be done at a Driver Testing Center or by mail.
    Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
    I will fear no evil: For I carry a .308 and not a .270
  • JeeperJeeper Senior Member Posts: 2,952 Senior Member