Home Main Category Hunting

Experiences with game wardens? Good, bad or otherwise.

JerryBobCoJerryBobCo Senior MemberPosts: 8,227 Senior Member
Seems like the stupid game law thread has quieted down, so I thought I'd start this one. It strikes me as a pretty good follow-on.

I'll start.

I've been hunting and fishing for about 50 years. During that time, I've only had a few encounters with game wardens. I can honestly say not a single one of them has been negative. In every instance, regardless of the circumstances, the warden(s) were polite and professional, and made it clear that they were simply doing their job.

I applaud the work they do, and appreciate them for doing it.

Next.
Jerry

Gun control laws make about as much sense as taking ex-lax to cure a cough.

Replies

• orchidmanorchidman Senior Member Posts: 8,365 Senior Member
    One of the things that gives me the most satisfaction of carrying out my duties as a wildlife officer/game warden is helping those guys who are out there doing it. There are times when hunters fail the 'attitude ' test and then I play things by the book.

For both hunters and wardens alike, you only get back what you put into the relationship generally speaking. However there are some guys that simply should not have any power just like there are some hunters that should never pick up a gun.
    Still enjoying the trip of a lifetime and making the best of what I have.....
  • snake284snake284 Senior Member Posts: 22,429 Senior Member
    The only negative experience I had I brought it on myself. I was 18 years old and taking a guest hunting one weekend. This guy was a Baptist Preacher from Arkansas. I took him hunting one morning then we came back huntinh again that afternoon. But we were one field over from where I had permission to hunt and we were walking behind a rice canal levee to get up on a large flock of geese in a field. We were almost there when I heard a car door shut. I looked up and there he was, Mr. Game Warden.