Home Defense and Bullet Protection

JermanatorJermanator Senior MemberPosts: 15,053 Senior Member
Here is the deal...
I am a builder. My client's house is laid out where if an intruder were to enter and if he had to shoot, his kid's bedrooms would be directly behind where the bad guy would be. I think that I am going to propose putting up sheets of 1/4" steel plate over the existing drywall, and then glue on, finish, and paint 1/4" drywall over that.

I am betting that it will stop slugs, buckshot, and most pistol rounds. I doubt it will stop .223. This will obviously have to be tested before we do it for real, but does anyone else have ideas or have any experience with what we are trying to accomplish?

I can get 4'x8' sheets of A36 1/4" steel plate for about $275 a sheet.

Thanks!

Replies

• jbp-ohiojbp-ohio Senior Member Posts: 9,459 Senior Member
    Buy a small piece and test it (box-o-truth). One on each side of the wall with a space between might work best

Sent from my R800x using Tapatalk
    "The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not." Thomas Jefferson
    Actually, 223 with vmax would probably penetrate less than pistol rounds

Sent from my R800x using Tapatalk
    "The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who are willing to work and give to those who would not." Thomas Jefferson
  • JermanatorJermanator Senior Member Posts: 15,053 Senior Member
    jbp-ohio wrote: »
    Buy a small piece and test it (box-o-truth).
    If he is totally serious about getting this done, I will definitely see one in my future.
  • bisleybisley Senior Member Posts: 10,552 Senior Member
    You could fairly easily test multiple thicknesses of plain old dry wall, clamped and glued together to make a solid wall about 6" thick. I think it would effectively deplete a .38 Special or 9mm with SD ammo. You could even sandwich some hardwood plywood in with it.