Home Main Category Second Amendment/Politics

Income Tax

bisleybisley Senior MemberPosts: 10,798 Senior Member
I've just finished E-filing my income taxes, and as usual, I'm completely disgusted.

I always torture myself, at the end of the process, by ticking off all the wonderful things the government does for me, and evaluating whether it justifies the $35-$40 a day I pay for them. Heck, I didn't even earn $40 a day until about the time my first child was born.

Let's see here, now. They defend the borders - no wait...the Texas Rangers and a few ranchers do most of that.

They fix the potholes in the Interstate, or at least hire illegal aliens to do it.

They deliver my mail, occasionally, if my mailbox meets the stringent specifications of size, height, most convenient side of the road (for them), etc.

They give my state some money to educate and feed my children - no wait...my children are grown, and besides I work for a living, so I don't qualify for any of that.

Let's see here...a...a...help me out here, folks. At the moment, I'm thinking that, basically, I work so that I can send a pile of money to be used by people I do not trust or agree with on most things, to be spent as they see fit. They get to choose the charities I 'donate' to and how much each gets, while I end up short-changing the ones I genuinely care about.

Make me feel better about this...Alf? ...Hakkonen? ....anybody?

Replies

• breamfisherbreamfisher Senior Member Posts: 13,493 Senior Member
    Well, there is that whole "military" that we fund through taxes...
    Overkill is underrated.
  • bisleybisley Senior Member Posts: 10,798 Senior Member
    Well, there is that whole "military" that we fund through taxes...

Yeah, if I knew that most of that was trickling down to military families, and that their Commander-In-Chief was looking out for their interests, I wouldn't whine about it.
  • robert38-55robert38-55 Senior Member Posts: 3,621 Senior Member
    bisley wrote: »