Home Main Category General Firearms

Need AR lower assembly tools... Is there a kit I can buy?

BigDanSBigDanS Senior MemberPosts: 6,992 Senior Member
Last weekend at the Fun Show I scored two lower parts kits, and two flat top Spikes complete uppers. I can now assemble two 100% Spikes Military M4's.

I stll need two rear sights for the build. I thought about a lot of different options but since this is my first build I wanted to build it "standard" before I venture into other AR options. Now I need tools.

I have reviewed the assembley threads at Ar15.com and it appears I will benefit from some tools, such as a barrel wrench / castle nut wrench, specific sized punches, roll pin starters, etc.

Does anyone sell an AR 15 lower assembly tool kit? I'd be glad to put it in my toolbox.

Also what do you all recommend for a decent rear folding sight?

D
"A patriot is mocked, scorned and hated; yet when his cause succeeds, all men will join him, for then it costs nothing to be a patriot." Mark Twain
Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives.... now who's bringing the hot wings? :jester:

Replies

• LMLarsenLMLarsen Senior Member Posts: 8,337 Senior Member
    Afraid all I can recommend is the rear sight: Troy makes excellent folding front and rear sights, which I have on one of mine after trying several different brands. I built three ARs with simple hand tools and advice from AR15.com and M4Carbine.net, but an armorer buddy torqued the barrels for me. I didn't have to buy any special tools; since it's not my specialty I didn't want to shell out a bunch for tools I'd only use a couple of times. I'd rather pay someone knowledgeable $10 or $20 to do it for me.
    “A gun is a tool, no better or no worse than any other tool: an axe, a shovel or anything. A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that.”

NRA Endowment Member
  • tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 27,457 Senior Member