Home Main Category Personal Defense

Building an HD shotgun.

jbohiojbohio Senior MemberPosts: 5,615 Senior Member
Well, I'm addressing some holes in my HD plan, and I picked up a '79 vintage 870 Wingmaster today. Cheap. With 20" rifle sighted slug barrel. The stocks are in 95% condition, so they're heading to ebay, to partially fund the build (nice ones are bringing over $100).
I got it cheap because some knucklehead had it in a case way too long, and it has some light rust marks in the bluing all over it.

I have zero experience with aftermarket 870 parts, and spray on coatings.

I don't want anything outrageous, or tacticool. Function.
I want synthetic, police style stocks, re-coat the entire thing, extended mag tube, night sights, maybe a ghost ring, over sized safety.
What's good stuff, what to stay away from?

I have a Midway order all ready to go, but figured I better check here first. I was looking at Speedfeed stocks, Remington 3 shot mag extension, Meprolight sights, and a Duracoat refinish kit.

What say you?

Replies

• BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 9,320 Senior Member
    Well, for some good enhancements. . .

Take a look at the underside of the shell carrier. If it has a square cut in it with a little tab bent inwards, odds are good it has the newer Flexi-Tab upgrade, which consists of a carrier, bolt, and bolt slide that are modified to allow a little more room in the action for clearing a double-fed shell. You can get those three parts as a kit from Remington.

Old as your gun is, you've already got a milled extractor, so no worries there.

Depending on what your trigger pull is, you might want to drop in Remington's orange (paint) LE sear spring, which will kick your pull up to 5-8 pounds.