Home Main Category General Firearms

Want to help educate me on scopes?

shawn1172shawn1172 Senior MemberPosts: 588 Senior Member
I'm just getting started shopping for a scope for an AR I plan to build (5.56mm). I have one AR now with a red dot but the next one will be for more long range shooting, out to 600 yards. I might hunt coyote with it but it will mainly be a target rifle.
I've hunted with scoped rifles all my life but no high powered scopes or any fancy features. I'm seeing mention of reticles being on the first or second focal plane but don't know what this means, which is better and why.
Then there's the reticle. Tons of them out there. My first thought is a mil dot but I'm open to suggestions.
How important is a side focus? And target turrets? Not even really sure what those are.
Also unsure of what power range would be right. This rifle will be mainly for target shooting at distances anywhere from 100 to 600 yards. I don't have experience shooting that far but want to learn, especially transitioning between different distances. I was thinking of a 6-18 power but am open to advice.
What features should I be looking for? Anything I should avoid? As for a price range, I'm hoping to keep it under $500.
Thanks guys.

Replies

• knitepoetknitepoet Senior Member Posts: 22,210 Senior Member
    First focal plane scopes have reticles whose size changes with magnification, so the "size" of the reticle stays the same in relation to the target irregardless of what magnification you use.
    With second focal plane scopes, the size of the reticle doesn't change, so when you crank up the magnification, the target appears to get bigger, and the reticle does not.

Target turrets are the taller turrets, that have "knobs" so you can turn them with your fingers instead of needing a coin or screwdriver. They're a lot easier if you're going to be dialing in for different ranges.

Which reticle is mostly a matter of personal preference though intended use plays a small role.