To "Boom it may Concern" The Gulf full of WWII Munitions/ordnance?

2»

Replies

• tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 23,956 Senior Member
    Forgot to add that Pu-239 is also a fissile bomb making material. My background is nuclear power production, and we only talked about materials as being fissionable, even though they were also fissile. During the fuel cycle a lot of U-238 got changed to Pu-239 in the reactor. We made fuel as we 'burned up' the enriched Uranium fuel. The U-235 enriched fuel made the reactor a little sluggish to changes in power level due to several factors. But once end of life approached for the core, the Pu-239 was a good deal of the fuel. The Pu-239 made the reactor change power levels a lot faster when rods were withdrawn.
    I may be a Deplorable, but at least I'm not a Liberal!!!

• ghostsniper1ghostsniper1 Banned Posts: 2,645 Senior Member
    tennmike wrote: »
    Forgot to add that Pu-249 is also a fissile bomb making material. My background is nuclear power production, and we only talked about materials as being fissionable, even though they were also fissile. During the fuel cycle a lot of U-238 got changed to Pu-239 in the reactor. We made fuel as we 'burned up' the enriched Uranium fuel. The U-235 enriched fuel made the reactor a little sluggish to changes in power level due to several factors. But once end of life approached for the core, the Pu-239 was a good deal of the fuel. The Pu-239 made the reactor change power levels a lot faster when rods were withdrawn.
    Isnt plutonium a lot harder to enrich than the U235?
    jbp-ohio wrote: »
    Your gonna have to explain how it is 'easy' to bombard uranium...... ???

The explosive sphere has to be absoulutely perfect. If the esplosion doesn't compress the sphere perfectly, the uranium will just escape out an crack in the pressure wave............ Not so easy.