Home Main Category General Firearms

Ruger rotary magazine, I am still learning new things.

skwirrelskwirrel MemberPosts: 181 Member
The advice has always been to never disassemble a Ruger rotary magazine. But I wanted to modify it so my reloads would fit. So I took an allen wrench, a deep breath, and took it apart.

What was all the fuss about?

I milled out some plastic at the bullet end of the shell, used a round file on the bullet end of the throat, sanded the inside of the cap, and put a washer between the screw and cap nut.

Put it back together and it works fine; accepts longer cartridges too.
Live long and prosper.

Replies

• Big Al1Big Al1 Senior Member Posts: 8,588 Senior Member
    What caliber?? Obviously not a .22!!
  • skwirrelskwirrel Member Posts: 181 Member
    Big Al1 wrote: »
    What caliber?? Obviously not a .22!!

Sorry, its the .22 hornet.
    Live long and prosper.
  • Big Al1Big Al1 Senior Member Posts: 8,588 Senior Member
    Bill Ruger loved the rotary magazine. One of his early gumsmith projects, about 1940, was to convert a Savage 99 to semi-auto.
  • shootershooter Senior Member Posts: 1,186 Senior Member
    skwirrel wrote: »
    The advice has always been to never disassemble a Ruger rotary magazine. But I wanted to modify it so my reloads would fit. So I took an allen wrench, a deep breath, and took it apart.

What was all the fuss about?

I milled out some plastic at the bullet end of the shell, used a round file on the bullet end of the throat, sanded the inside of the cap, and put a washer between the screw and cap nut.

Put it back together and it works fine; accepts longer cartridges too.

FWIW The new Ruger BX-25 magazines indicate that they are built to be taken apart and cleaned by the user. The package recommended disassembly and cleaning.