Home Main Category General Firearms

Springfield XD 9mm vs Ruger LCR .357

fufufufu MemberPosts: 36 Member
Hi, I'm new and looking to purchase a new firearm. I'm not a total novice, but I'm not well versed on firearms. I grew up around gunowners, but rarely shot. By the time I was 18, I'd shot only a handful of times. I joined the military and shot only to qualify every 12-24 months until about 3 years ago. Then, my granddad gave me a .22 long rifle, .22 Ruger Single Six and Marlin 30-30. I've been to the range a few times and recently decided I enjoyed it quite a bit. So, I purchased a year membership and intended on shooting at least weekly.

I'm going to start carrying, so I want something compact but not tiny(like a Taurus .380).

I know, apples to oranges when talking about the two guns in the title. However, I can rent at my range and I've tried a Sig .380, S&W 357. I hated the .380, but enjoyed the 357(hammerless model). I like the fact I could shoot 38 or 357 and I was fairly accurate(much more so than with the 380). It seems I prefer a heavier weapon. I'd like to try the SF XD 9mm, but if I can't, who can give me some advice on what I should be looking for?

I'd like to keep the total cost around $500. I can shop on base, so the SF is $464 and Ruger is 507.

Replies

• DanChamberlainDanChamberlain Senior Member Posts: 3,395 Senior Member
    There's a lot to be said for the simplicity, reliability and versatility of the revolver. I'd never pooh-pooh that as a decision. I've owned the XD-9 and it's a great gun, though harder to conceal. I'd avoid a micro-semiauto until you've developed more as a shooter. They can tend to be finicky in the hands of those who haven't experienced their idiosyncrasies.

Welcome and happy New Year.
    It's a source of great pride for me, that when my name is googled, one finds book titles and not mug shots. Daniel C. Chamberlain
  • NNNN Senior Member Posts: 25,056 Senior Member
    Welcome aboard.