Home Main Category Personal Defense

Question P95 Ruger

104RFAST104RFAST Senior MemberPosts: 1,281 Senior Member
I have been using my P95 as my car gun for the past 7 years, (fortunately I live in Florida)
& I have always used standard SD JHP ammo. I have purchased some of the +P 9MM
SD ammo and just wondering if its is necessary to upgrade the the recoil springs ( assuming
there are after market springs ) Over the years I have put less than 150 rounds through
it so I don't think the spring is worn out, I just want to be sure I don't damage the gun
Thanks in advance!! Bill

Replies

• KENFU1911KENFU1911 Senior Member Posts: 1,052 Senior Member
    If you have only put 150 rounds through it in 7 years........I would not worry about the stock springs holding up.........just shoot enough to make sure it functions properly.......and save the rest for serious work..........Ken
    My idea of a warning shot is when the 2nd bad guy watches his 1st buddy go down....
  • gunrunner428gunrunner428 Senior Member Posts: 1,018 Senior Member
    Rugers, any Rugers, are built like tanks and would have minimal concerns with +P ammo use.
  • HondoHondo Member Posts: 320 Member
    You can check out Wolff Springs.......they have a pretty good selection of springs in various weights....just a thought

Mike A
  • Troll Em' UpTroll Em' Up New Member Posts: 2 New Member
    That got me thinking. I've run about 1200 or so rounds of standard and HP Defense (no +P stuff) ammo through my Kimber .45 over the past couple of years. I've still never had a glitch but when should I be considering any spring or parts replacement?? Is there a magic number or will a "pro" need to take a look at the gun to check for wear?
  • JeeperJeeper Senior Member Posts: 2,954 Senior Member
    I've heard ~5K rounds as a general rule for spring replacement. Rugers are overbuilt, and you're definitely not going to hurt it with some +P ammo.

Luis