Home Main Category General Firearms

Looking to get some credentials under my belt, NRA and Glock Armorer... How?

shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior MemberPosts: 5,970 Senior Member
Hey guys I'm looking at becoming an NRA Rifle, Pistol and possibly shotgun instructor. I was an apprentice pistol instructor back in the day but it expired (didn't use it at NMMI).

Reason I'm doing this is because I took a friend to the range today, and was able to spot and begin to cure the horrible flinch he had shooting his Glock 21. By the end of the day I got his groups to shrink to half the size they were when we started. I miss teaching people how to shoot, and honestly I feel like I'm pretty good at it. I'm not looking at making a living off of it, more just to pad my resume and build my credibility for when I do instruct/teach. Plus, I'm thinking of working at a gun shop between the time I graduate Texas A&M and go to Fort Rucker, so I figure the more certifications I hold the better.

I am particularly interested in the following certifications: NRA Instructor Rifle, NRA Instructor Pistol, Glock Armorer (I am military so I qualify, might join GSSF anyway). I would like to, at some point, take a S&W Revolver course and 1911 Armorer's course as well.

I'm also considering some other certifications in the future, such as Texas CHL Instructor.

Is there any other certifications I should be looking at? Again, I'm not looking at making this my lively hood, but I do want to do it. I know some people have issues with the NRA Course, but I feel that it could do a lot worse (I went through it about 8 years ago).

Any advice is greatly appreciated!
- I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
"Slow is smooth, smooth is fast, and speed is the economy of motion" - Scott Jedlinski

Replies

• BigslugBigslug Senior Member Posts: 9,327 Senior Member