Which Milsurp pistol would you choose for Concealed Carry?

shotgunshooter3shotgunshooter3 Senior MemberPosts: 5,428 Senior Member
If this belongs in the PD Forum, please forgive me, but I thought since it was talking more about the guns than carrying it should go here.

Anyway, Dad is asking for the Glock 19 that I'm borrowing from him back so that Mom can use it. This leaves me without a compact CC pistol. Yes, I could carry my fullsize 1911, but I would rather get something smaller.

So, since I am applying for a C&R anyway, I figured I'd go for one of those.

So, would you choose a Polish P64, a Bulgarian Makarov, or a CZ82 if you were in my situation? I'm new to this arena (C&R, not CC), so any info is greatly appreciated!
- I am a rifleman with a poorly chosen screen name. -
"It's far easier to start out learning to be precise and then speeding up, than it is having never "mastered" the weapon, and trying to be precise." - Dan C

Replies

• knitepoetknitepoet Senior Member Posts: 19,020 Senior Member
    None of the choices you listed fit my ham hands, they have the same problem that the Walther PP/PPKs do, in that the slide rides across the web of my hand. If I shoot more than a few rounds, I end up with two bloody tracks.
    I'm glad I got to shoot BigDans' CZ82 at the 2010 get together and found out it doesn't "fit" me before I bought one.

Of course, YMMV and if it had fit me, I was planning on getting the 82
    Seven Habits of Highly Effective Pirates, Rule #37: There is no “overkill”. There is only “open fire” and “I need to reload”.

• TeachTeach Senior Member Posts: 18,428 Senior Member