Looking for cheap CC gun

amtilton17amtilton17 MemberPosts: 54 Member
Hey,

I am a recent college grad, working a minimum wage job with student loans. I have a CCP and am looking for a cheap, reliable CC pistol. I would like something at least 9mm and bigger than a Keltec. What are your suggestions? Hoping to stay around $300.

Replies

• DoctorWhoDoctorWho Senior Member Posts: 9,496 Senior Member
    Look at the Ruger 9mm LC 9, out the door in most gun stores at $299

corrected.
    "There is some evil in all of us, Doctor, even you, the Valeyard is an amalgamation of the darker sides of your nature, somewhere between your twelfth and final incarnation, and I may say, you do not improve with age. Founding member of the G&A forum since 1996
  • tv_racin_fantv_racin_fan Senior Member Posts: 617 Senior Member
    Cheap??

I'd check the local gun shop/pawn shops for a decent used S&W or Ruger revolver. I found a Ruger SP101 for $350, I am looking to find another for not much more.

Buds gun shop has NEW S&W 637 listed at $361, Ruger SP101 in 357 at $464.
  • bullsi1911bullsi1911 Moderator Posts: 9,932 Senior Member
    You may need to go used to get something in that price frame. Don't overlook revolvers as a viable defense option.

Check your local classifieds, gun shows, etc... and see what's out there.

What is your experience level with firearms?
    To make something simple is a thousand times more difficult than to make something complex.
    -Mikhail Kalashnikov
  • bobbyrlf3bobbyrlf3 Senior Member Posts: 2,475 Senior Member
    In my limited experience, Ruger's lineup will generally have options that fit your budget while being completely reliable; an example being the P95, which is chambered in 9mm and is a good size for most CC applications. As others have suggested, there are a few revolvers that are also viable options. Have a look at your LGS for the models mentioned here.