Efforts to ban lead shot -- tell me about it

Replies

• BAMAAKBAMAAK Senior Member Posts: 4,338 Senior Member
    High density polymer compound? Everybody start loading their shotgun shells with airsoft pellets. Yea plastic will substitute nicely for lead.
    "He only earns his freedom and his life Who takes them every day by storm."

-- Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, German writer and politician
  • tennmiketennmike Senior Member Posts: 26,233 Senior Member
    It would be VERY easy to coat lead shot with a layer of PVC or similar material to make lead leaching into the environment from it(if that actually occurs) a moot point, and bird digestive tracts could not dissolve it to poison them. I have a CRAPLOAD of steel balls in sizes from approximately #6 shot size to 1/2" that are coated with a high density plastic that are used for crushing stuff in a homemade rotary drum tumbler(9" dia. x 12" length drum). I've been using these for approximately 25 years, and they show NO signs of deterioration from the abuse they take in the rotary tumbler. The technology has been available to do this for a long time, but there is no drive to make it happen. Since the tree hugging 'rat is a dog is a boy' eco-freaks would go ballistic if plastic covered lead shot were made available and negate their aim to ban all hunting, it would at least bring their true agenda to light.
    If the U.S. Congress was put in charge of the Sahara Desert, there would be a shortage of sand in under six months.

• samzheresamzhere Banned Posts: 10,923 Senior Member
    tennmike wrote: »
    It would be VERY easy to coat lead shot with a layer of PVC or similar material to make lead leaching into the environment from it(if that actually occurs) a moot point, and bird digestive tracts could not dissolve it to poison them. etc.

Now that's a good idea -- just coat the pellets. IF and ONLY IF lead shot is indeed proven to be harmful to the environment.