Home Main Category Clubhouse

When the ad says "Make an offer- - - - -"

TeachTeach Senior MemberPosts: 18,428 Senior Member
I'm feeling just a little guilty right now, but I bet I'll get over it! A few days ago I was browsing Ebay, and noticed a lathe for sale that's almost a clone of the worn-out one I've been patching on for the pasty 15 years of so. The asking price was reasonable, bit there was also a "make an offer" option. I tossed out a lowball bid just to get the conversation started, and a few hours later I get an "offer accepted" notice!

This thing is as close to pristine as I've ever seen, almost like finding a new in the box, unfired pre-64 Model 70! It was owned by a Georgia Tech professor, and it was being sold as part of his estate. I just got back from Atlanta with it and it's about to get put to use making lots of curly metal shavings! Pics as soon as there's enough daylight! It's an Atlas/Craftsman 12" swing, 36" between centers, and if it's got 25 hours of operation since new, I'd be surprised! All the accessories for the lathe I'm currently using will be a drop-on fit, also!
Jerry

Replies

• BufordBuford Senior Member Posts: 6,713 Senior Member
    Sometimes you just get lucky.:beer:
    Just look at the flowers Lizzie, just look at the flowers.
  • coolgunguycoolgunguy Senior Member Posts: 6,610 Senior Member
    Mr. Jerry, you must be living right!
    "Bipartisan" usually means that a bigger than normal deception is happening.
    George Carlin
  • HvyMaxHvyMax Senior Member Posts: 1,786 Senior Member
    You really suck!!!
    Wal Mart where the discriminating white trash shop.
    Paddle faster!!! I hear banjos.
    Reason for editing: correcting my auto correct
  • Big ChiefBig Chief Senior Member Posts: 32,995 Senior Member
    Good find and you will put it to good use not sitting idle and rusting away. The late Prof would like that!
    It's only true if it's on this forum where opinions are facts and facts are opinions